Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

MO Bar gives out wealth of awards

Staff Report//September 20, 2013

MO Bar gives out wealth of awards

Staff Report//September 20, 2013

These awards were presented at The Missouri Bar Annual Meeting in Columbia last week:

President’s Awards (recognizing meritorious service to The Missouri Bar)

• Robert C. Welch, Welch, Martin & Albano; H. A. “Skip” Walther, Walther, Antel, Stamper & Fischer

Theodore McMillian
Judicial Excellence Award

• Judge Michael W. Manners, 16th Judicial Circuit Court, Division 2, Independence

Spurgeon Smithson Awards (acknowledging significant contributions to the administration of justice)

• Dean Michael A. Wolff, Saint Louis University School of Law; Judge Robert G. Russell, Kempton & Russell; Rep. Ike N. Skelton, Husch Blackwell

W. Oliver Rasch Award (best Journal of The Missouri Bar article of the year)

• H. Morley Swingle, assistant U.S. attorney, Cape Girardeau

David J. Dixon Appellate Advocacy Awards

• D. John Sauer, Clark & Sauer; Thomas J. Hershewe, Dollar, Burns & Becker; Timothy A. Garrison, U.S. Attorney’s Office, Western District

Lon O. Hocker Trial Lawyer Awards

• Sarah K. Johnson, Missouri Public Defender’s Office, St. Louis; Molly M. Hastings, Missouri Public Defender’s Office, Kansas City; Russell P. Dempsey, Greene County Prosecutor’s Office

Purcell Professionalism Award

• Cathy J. Dean, Kansas City, and Alan D. Pratzel, chief disciplinary counsel

Pro Bono Publico Awards

• Tina N. Babel, Carmody MacDonald; Stacey Meyer Bowman, Husch Blackwell; Anthony L. DeWitt, Bartimus, Frickleton,Robertson & Gorny;  and The Greenwade Law Firm

Defender of Distinction Award

• William J. Swift, Missouri State Public Defender’s Office, Columbia

Prosecutor of the Year Award

• Michael S. Wright, Warren County prosecuting attorney

Liberty Bell Award (acknowledging a non-lawyer or nonlegal organization engaged in public service activities that enhance the legal community)

Veterans United Foundation, Columbia

Tom Cochran Award (acknowledging outstanding community service)

• Charles R. Wooten, Roberts, Wooten & Zimmer

Young Lawyers Section
Pro Bono Awards

• Derek A. Ankrom, Husch Blackwell; Jennifer K. Bukowsky, Bukowsky Law Firm; and Husch Blackwell.

Latest Opinion Digests

See all digests

Top stories

See more news