Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Don't miss
Home / Featured / Norwood named 2019 Woman of the Year

Norwood named 2019 Woman of the Year


Kimberly Norwood

The 2019 Women’s Justice Awards selection committee has chosen Kimberly J. Norwood, the Henry H. Oberschelp Professor of Law at Washington University, as Missouri Lawyers Media’s Woman of the Year.

We previously honored Norwood in 2014 as a mentor to younger lawyers as part of our annual Up & Coming Awards. Now we recognize her for the scholarship and wisdom she brings to the world beyond the law-school classroom.

Norwood, who joined the university in 1990, writes extensively and lectures on colorism, social justice, civil rights and implicit and explicit bias issues. Her work ranges from the academic — she helped organize the first international conference on colorism to be held in the United States — to the practical — she advised Starbucks on its national implicit-bias training agenda.

In the aftermath of Ferguson, she has worked with organizations ranging from the Missouri Supreme Court to the American Bar Association to address issues in Missouri’s municipal courts and in the profession as a whole. She remains a member of the team appointed to monitor the U.S. v. Ferguson consent decree prompted by unrest after the fatal shooting of 18-year-old Michael Brown in 2014.

Norwood leads this year’s list of 51 honorees, which includes judges, in-house counsel, legal scholars and private practitioners from around the state, as well as outstanding students at Missouri law schools.

The 21st annual Women’s Justice Awards event is set for Thursday, April 25 at the Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis. Winners will be profiled in a special section of Missouri Lawyers Weekly on April 29.

Since 1999, the Women’s Justice Awards have celebrated extraordinary women lawyers, law students, rising stars, public officials and others in recognition of the standards of professional excellence they’ve set for their peers. For information on the event or to purchase tickets, click here.

The 2019 honorees are:

Woman of the Year

This woman truly stands out in making an extraordinary difference to improve the quality of justice or exemplify the highest ideals of the legal profession.

Kimberly J. Norwood, Henry H. Oberschelp Professor of Law, Washington University; St. Louis


Corporate Award

These women serve as general or in-house counsel, advising businesses on complex legal matters.

Kara Larson, assistant general counsel, KCP&L, Kansas City

Mary Nelson, general counsel and chief legal officer, St. Louis Community College, St. Louis

Jarica Oeltjen, assistant general counsel, BKD, Springfield

Anna Selby, assistant vice chancellor and associate general counsel, Washington University, St. Louis

Sarah Wilson, assistant general counsel, CoxHealth, Springfield


General Practitioner Award

These are the women who, as attorneys, do it all. They handle multiple practice areas with skill.

Susan Appelquist, Appelquist Law, Mount Vernon

Shanna Jacoby, The Jake Jacoby Law Firm, Independence

Kathy Kranitz Sadoun, Kranitz, Sadoun & Carpenter, St. Joseph

The late Kimberly McDermott, Lewis Rice, St. Louis

Jennifer R. Piper, Reinker, Hamilton & Piper, Richmond Heights

Elaine A. Pudlowski, Frankel, Rubin, Klein, Siegel, Payne & Pudlowski, Clayton

Randee Stemmons, Stemmons Law Firm, Mount Vernon

Lisa O. Stump, Lashly & Baer, St. Louis


Litigation Practitioner Award

These litigators have made their careers in the courtroom — criminal or civil, representing plaintiff or defense

Teresa D. Bartosiak, Sandberg Phoenix & von Gontard, St. Louis

Liz Blackwell, Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner, St. Louis

Dedra Brock-Moore, The Law Offices of Dedra Brock-Moore, Belleville, Illinois

Brandi Burke, Thompson Coburn, St. Louis

Amy Collignon Gunn, The Simon Law Firm, St. Louis

Michelle L. Corrigan Erikson, Stinson Leonard Street, Clayton

Denise Drake, Polsinelli, Kansas City

Nicole Fisher, Fisher Law, Kansas City

Kersten Holzhueter, Spencer Fane, Kansas City

Jennifer S. Kingston, Dowd Bennett, Clayton

Katherine Myers, Edelman, Liesen & Myers, Kansas City

Sonni Nolan, Husch Blackwell, St. Louis

Jennifer Oswald Brown, Oswald, Roam & Rew, Blue Springs

Abby Risner, Greensfelder, Hemker & Gale, St. Louis

Cara Rose, Franke Schultz & Mullen, Springfield

Patricia Scaglia, Scaglia Law Firm, Independence

Allison Schreiber Lee, Paule, Camazine & Blumenthal, St. Louis

Rachel E. Schwartz, Stueve Siegel Hanson, Kansas City

Andrea Stanley, Brown & Crouppen, St. Louis

Kara T. Stubbs, Baker Sterchi Cowden & Rice, Kansas City


Public Service Award

These women work on behalf of a nonprofit organization, government agency or the judiciary; or have made their mark in education.

Kathleen Croker, staff attorney, Phelps County Family Crisis Services Inc., Rolla

Nasreen Esmail, deputy director/chief legal counsel, Missouri Division of Workers’ Compensation, Jefferson City

Associate Circuit Judge Ann Hansbrough, Platte County Circuit Court, Platte City

Suzanne Kissock, legal studies program director, chair and professor, Missouri Western State University, St. Joseph

Regi Martin, family court commissioner, Greene County Circuit Court, Springfield

Vickie Mauck, executive director, Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association, Kansas City

Sara Parker Pauley, director, Missouri Department of Conservation, Jefferson City

Judge Robin Ransom, Court of Appeals Eastern District, St. Louis


Pro Bono Award

These awards honor the women attorneys who have contributed significant effort and time to pro bono work.

Amy E. Garrett, Simmons Hanly Conroy, Alton, Illinois

Shannon Gordon, The Gordon Law Firm, Kansas City

Elizabeth Lenivy, The Simon Law Firm, St. Louis

Gaylin Rich Carver, Carver & Michael, Jefferson City

Larissa M. Whittingham, Husch Blackwell, Springfield


Leaders of Tomorrow Award

These law students demonstrate leadership, professionalism and a passion for making a difference in the justice system or legal profession.

Bola Adeniran, Saint Louis University School of Law

Kathleen Killen, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law

Auriel Kirkland, Washington University School of Law

Rachel Renee Mitchell, University of Missouri School of Law