Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Don't miss
Home / Featured / ICON Awards 2021: Publisher’s letter, honorees

ICON Awards 2021: Publisher’s letter, honorees

Meet our 2021 class of legal Icons. 

Liz Irwin

Liz Irwin

This annual Missouri Lawyers Media celebration honors career achievement by recognizing lawyers for their exceptional and lengthy contributions to the profession and community — those who personify the ideals of what it means to be an attorney.

Clearly, we’ve succeeded for the fourth year in identifying Missouri’s legal icons. Read the profiles of the 28 attorneys featured on these pages, and you will agree. After all, to even be considered for this honor, nominees must be an integral part of their businesses and routinely have made a positive impact on their communities.

And they must have reached at least the age of 60. It’s not about age, per se. After all, six decades of living doesn’t ensure accolades. Six decades of consistent remarkable contribution, however, does ensure Icon status.

These men and women aspire to a higher call, leading the way for others. The journey of each may be different, but the destination is the same — measured, thoughtful success. They are paragons in the industry who recognize the need to participate and improve their communities, however they define them.

History will continue to catalog the achievements of those we honor through the ICON Awards. But it is their work so far that we highlight through this recognition.

They set a high standard of accomplishment.

Icons tend to do that.

So we thank them — for what they’ve done, what they do and what they will do.

2021 ICON Awards honorees

Gerard T. Carmody, Carmody MacDonald

Michael A. Chivell, Armstrong Teasdale

Steven N. Cousins, Cousins Allied Strategic Advisors

Joseph Dandurand, Legal Aid of Western Missouri; former judge, 17th Judicial Circuit

Jerome J. Dobson, Dobson, Berns & Rich

Doreen D. Dodson, Polsinelli, retired

Judy P. Draper, former judge, St. Louis County Circuit Court

Ronald Fox, Fox Smith

Fernando J. Gaitan Jr., U.S. District Court for the Western District of Missouri

Jennifer Gille Bacon, Polsinelli, retired

Marie Gockel, Bratcher Gockel Law

Robert Langdon, Langdon & Emison

Theresa L. F. Levings, Badger & Levings

Arthur S. Margulis, Margulis Gelfand

James G. Martin, Dowd Bennett

David C. Mason, St. Louis Circuit Court

Patrick K. McMonigle, Dysart Taylor Cotter McMonigle & Brumitt

Martin M. Meyers, The Meyers Law Firm

Timothy W. Monsees, Monsees & Mayer

Lawrence E. Mooney, JAMS;  former chief judge, Missouri Court of Appeals Eastern District

Margaret M. Mooney, Lashly & Baer

Sandra M. Moore, Advantage Capital

Glenn A. Norton, Blitz, Bardgett & Deutsch; former chief judge, Missouri Court of Appeals Eastern District

John G. Schultz, Franke Schultz & Mullen

Reuben A. Shelton, Monsanto, retired

James W. Tippin, James W. Tippin & Associates

Paul N. Venker, Baker Sterchi Cowden & Rice

Karl Zobrist, Dentons US

ICON Awards 2021