Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Lisa White Hardwick named 2022 Woman of the Year

Staff Report//March 11, 2022

Lisa White Hardwick named 2022 Woman of the Year

Staff Report//March 11, 2022

Judge Lisa White Hardwick
Judge Lisa White Hardwick

Missouri Lawyers Media has chosen Judge Lisa White Hardwick of the Missouri Court of Appeals Western District as its 2022 Woman of the Year.

Hardwick, who was named to the Western District in 2001, is the longest serving current member of the Kansas City-based appellate court. 

Prior to joining the appellate bench, Hardwick was a trial judge in Jackson County for about a year and a half. She previously practiced law with the law firm of Shook, Hardy & Bacon for 15 years and was an elected member of the Jackson County Legislature from 1993 to 2000. She earned her law degree from Harvard in 1985.

RELATED: Read our full profile of Lisa White Hardwick here

Hardwick, who was the first Black woman appointed to any of the Court of Appeals’ three districts and is currently the only Black judge on the Western District, has served as chair of the Missouri Commission on Racial and Ethnic Fairness since 2015. She also is the former chair of the Supreme Court’s Appellate Practice Committee and led the Appellate Apportionment Commission that drew district maps for the Missouri House and Senate following the 2010 census.

Hardwick leads this year’s list of 51 honorees, which comprises judges, in-house counsel, legal scholars and private practitioners from around the state, as well as outstanding students at Missouri law schools.

The 24th annual Women’s Justice Awards event is set for May 12 at the Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis. Winners also will be profiled in a special section of Missouri Lawyers Weekly.

Since 1999, the Women’s Justice Awards have celebrated extraordinary women lawyers, law students, rising stars, public officials and others in recognition of the standards of professional excellence they’ve set for their peers. For information on the event or to purchase tickets, click here.

The 2022 honorees are:

Woman of the Year

This woman truly stands out in making an extraordinary difference to improve the quality of justice or exemplify the highest ideals of the legal profession.

  • Lisa White Hardwick, Missouri Court of Appeals Western District Judge

Corporate Award

These women serve as general or in-house counsel, advising businesses on complex legal matters. 

  • Tamar Hodges, Mallinckrodt 
  • Sara Reid, BJC HealthCare 
  • Ashley Schuette, Andy’s Frozen Custard 
  • Kimberley Spies, Rouse Frets White Goss Gentile Rhodes 
  • Danielle Uy, Saint Louis University

General Practitioner Award

These are the women who, as attorneys, do it all. They handle multiple practice areas with skill.

  • Joy Ferguson, Hackworth, Ferguson & Thompson 
  • Emily Woodward Guffey, Williams, Robinson, Rigler & Buschjost 
  • Beverly Weber, Armstrong Teasdale

Innovation & Technology Award

These women advise companies, startups and entrepreneurs with legal issues regarding intellectual property, technology and other aspects of their business.

  • Danielle Merrick, University of Missouri-Kansas City 
  • Saraann Parker, Armstrong Teasdale 
  • Melissa Powers, Lewis Rice

Leaders of Tomorrow Award

These law students demonstrate leadership, professionalism and a passion for making a difference in the justice system or legal profession.

  • Sara Hubaishi, Washington University 
  • Susan Juhl, University of Missouri-Kansas City 
  • Emma Mitchell, Saint Louis University  
  • Emily Miller, University of Missouri  

Litigation Practitioner Award

These litigators have made their careers in the courtroom — criminal or civil, representing plaintiff or defense.

  • Rosemarie Blasé, Dowd Bennett  
  • Sarah Burns, Simmons Hanly Conroy 
  • Karrie Clinkinbeard, Armstrong Teasdale 
  • Kelle Burmeister Gilmore, Burmeister Gilmore
  • Laura Greene, Husch Blackwell 
  • Brette Hart, Harris & Hart 
  • Amy Rebecca Johnson, Paule, Camazine & Blumenthal 
  • Dawn Johnson, Greensfelder Hemker & Gale
  • Crystal Cook Leftridge, Stueve Siegel Hanson 
  • Sonette Magnus, Thompson Coburn 
  • Michelle Marvel, Bartimus Frickleton Robertson Rader 
  • Tracy Beckham Phipps, Sandberg Phoenix & von Gontard
  • Chelsea McClain Pierce, Humphrey, Farrington & McClain 
  • Dana Tucker Redwing, Bi-State Development General Counsel
  • Danielle Rogers, Langdon & Emison 
  • Ashlea Schwarz, Paul LLP 
  • Joan Sheridan, Franke Schultz & Mullen 
  • Erica Slater, The Simon Law Firm 
  • Lynn Ann Vogel, Vogel Law Firm 

Pro Bono Award

These awards honor the women attorneys who have contributed significant effort and time to pro bono work.

  • Sophia Bond, U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights 

Public Service Award

These women work on behalf of a nonprofit organization, government agency or the judiciary; or have made their mark in education.

  • Andrea Bough, City Council, City of Kansas City
  • Shirley Padmore Mensah, U.S District Court for the Eastern District of Missouri
  • Megan McCullough, City of Republic 
  • Elizabeth Rohrs, Polk County Circuit Court 
  • Rachel Bringer Shepherd, 10th Judicial Circuit 
  • Kristen Tuohy, Christian County Prosecutor’s Office 
  • Hope Whitehead, St. Louis County Circuit Court 
  • Gillian Ruddy Wilcox, ACLU 
  • Tiffany Yarnell, Taney County Circuit Court 

Transactional Practitioner Award

These women counsel companies, individuals and organizations on the legal issues generated by their business dealings or financial matters.

  • Jane Arnold, Polsinelli 
  • Ebonie Davis, Armstrong Teasdale 
  • Margaret Hesse, Tueth Keeney Cooper Mohan & Jackstadt
  • Mary Jane Judy, Polsinelli 
  • Lindsay Wuller Aggarwal, Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner 

RELATED: Tickets, information about 2022 Women’s Justice Awards 

Latest Opinion Digests

See all digests

Top stories

See more news